The Joys in Being Flynn, Flynn Rider

Hello everyone, if you follow me at all over social media you have seen that I had the opportunity to act as Flynn Rider again over this past weekend and it was a BLAST. I couldn’t contain the joy I had when acting, it was such an amazing experience to perform again, and I count it as a blessing to have been part of the production.

Although I played a confident, cocky, suave, heartthrob of a character; I was dealing with a lot of insecurities and mental battles.

“I’m not good enough” “I don’t know why they asked me to be apart of the show” “I’m not able to perform, I’m not worthy. I am not good at this” “There is no way people will like me, and they will just laugh at how bad I am” “Maybe I should just drop out and don’t even try to embarrass myself” All of these thoughts entered my mind, and often times they crippled me right before I went on stage for rehearsal, or when I came home from practice I would beat myself up mentally and get incredibly depressed. I would suffer from anxiety attacks, I couldn’t breathe and I would freak out.

But something happened, a mental shift happened and I saw the performance as my reward for all the hard work during practice and rehearsal. I found joys in acting, I found the small things I could do while on stage to make people laugh, I found the joys in being Flynn Rider.

I got to act along side with one of my close friends Hannah (Rapunzel) and it made me feel comfortable up there being next to her. She was so good at Rapunzel, I actually think she is the real life princess; just without the long hair. But her and I were talking one night and she showed me a video of Flynn and Rapunzel interacting with kids at Disneyworld and I saw the enjoyment of the actor playing Flynn and I wanted to feel that. So I asked God to get me a new perspective, to see myself the way He sees me doing this.

I leaned on the Lord like it says to do in Proverbs 3:5-6 and trusted in His almighty power that something would change for me in my head… and it did. He provided me with so much joy, and strength because the Joy of the Lord is our strength.

I want to share a few of the joys the Lord showed me while I was being Flynn, Flynn Rider.

  1. He showed me how much I can have while being in character. If you know me personally, you know that being Flynn isn’t that hard of a role of a role for me to play. It came naturally to me because I am obviously funny, charming, and a prince. lol, I promise I am humble. It didn’t become scary any more, it slowly became more and more fun and natural to stand on stage to make people laugh and to entertain them. He showed me different jokes and different lines to make people engage more. It became more apparent that this was a fun role to be in, and it was a blessing to be a part of it.
  2. He showed me the smiles of the kids face that would come to Rapunzel and myself to take a picture. For some background information, the Church’s kids ministry did “Untangled” for our Easter production, and it was so well liked, they wanted to do it on the main stage so the parents could see it too! It was fun to see the kids get all excited about seeing everyone in costume again, it was fun to sign autographs as Flynn Rider, and it was fun to interact with every single “princess” that came up to Rapunzel and myself to say hi. A group of three girls came up to us right before we left and they were dressed up as princesses and it made my heart melt when they gave us hugs because they love the characters.
  3. Lastly. He showed me the joy in the mistakes that happen. Obviously we aren’t perfect, mistakes happen and sometimes an actor forgets a line, an audience member disrupts the play, or ya know… part of the set falls over right before the big dramatic scene. If you couldn’t tell by my written sarcasm, the last part happened during our last performance. Right before Rapunzel and I were supposed to get into a boat and share our deep revelation, the boat fell over and my mind went blank. Never did this happen, ever. Not even in rehearsals, when everything else went wrong, the boat never fell UNTIL THEN!!! What the heck right?? Well because I got good with the Lord, His peace with me and I was able to play it off pretty easily, I think. It turned into one of those memories that I won’t forget for a long time.

God is in the business of making His joy known and abound with those who love Him. Rejoice in the Lord and again I say rejoice.- Philippians 4:4

John 15:11-  These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.

God wants us to be happy and full of His joy, to see His light in the darkness. He is wanting to impact your life with whatever you need at that moment. I pray that you find what you need at this moment in life and God meets and exceeds your expectations in that area.

Leave a Reply

