Staying Thankful Through the Storm

img_7328

So at the beginning of each year I try to reflect on the previous year and see the highlights of the year instead of the negative events that happened. This year was specifically hard for me to find the good because of the whole cancer thing ya know? But in my trials of thinking of the good things that happened this year I remember what the Lord wants us to be in all seasons. The Word says in 1 Thessalonians to be thankful in all seasons and Psalm 50:15 it says to trust the Lord in times of Trouble and that He would rescue you, so I’ve been meditating on these two verses the first few weeks of 2017.

First off I want to list a few things I am thankful for.

  • I am thankful for my family. They were so much stronger and caring than I ever could have imagined. They helped me with so much of the random things that I couldn’t do when I was weak and recovering. I could write an entire post about how much they mean to me and how many times they showed their unselfishness toward me this past year.
  • I am thankful for my friends. They always made me feel appreciated and valued even though I was looking and feeling like trash. Many friends would sacrifice their Friday or Saturday nights to come over to play cards, watch a movie, watch competitive cooking shows on Netflix or to just talk. They showed so much love through my time of need. I will forever be thankful for them and all that they have done for me.
  • I am thankful for my dog (pictured above). He would sit at my feet when I was ill and “guard” me from my family. He would follow me around when I could get up and walk and he still sleeps next to me almost every night. I know it’s weird but Slugger provided me joy during a dark time.
  • I am thankful for my faith and my relationship with the Lord. He showed himself faithful time and time again. He is so loving that He constantly looks for opportunities to bless us, and to give us the best. Everyday He showed me different things about His character that was always left me in awe of how AWESOME our God is. I learned so much about His promises that include following blessings while walking in faith through a storm like that.

I want to encourage everyone to take a moment to look at their life to find out what they are thankful for. Look at the little things like card games with your friends, movie night with your significant other, a family board game night, or even your favorite late night snack. Find the little joys that God specifically put inside of you to make you yourself. Find the small passions you have that some find quirky and odd but you love and can’t get enough of and follow those to the highest extent that you can. Do something that makes you happy at least once a day.

What has God done for you to make you blessed? Is it your friends that come over and get into “Chopped” with you? Is it your family who loves you unconditionally? Has God done a recent miracle in your life that you are overlooking. I feel like God wants to have us recognize all the blessings and miracles He does for us everyday. He does miracles in different ways for different people. He gives blessings so freely it is very overwhelming. Take time to see what He is doing in your life. Be thankful for the season you are in.

In the Word it says there is a time and season for everything, and no I don’t know why people get terminal diseases and some die. I think we live in a fallen world where the Devil wreaks havoc, but God is infinitely good. God provides perfect gifts and will help us get through any season life throws at us. That is just who He is. He isn’t some angry God waiting heaven for us to screw up so He can punish us. He isn’t trying to look for something negative to give us because we “deserve it”. God’s character is perfect, loving, caring, and a good father.

Find the small things to be thankful in. It is easy to look back on a year and see all the bad things that happened. Like cancer, negative side effects to medicine, major complications from a liver transplant, and a breakup. But it is worth taking time and finding the small things that have gone your way in the past year. Find the God gifts that has placed in your lap and meditate on those to propel you to find joy, to find laughter, to find God’s character again.

Being thankful for the things in your life isn’t just something you highlight in November. It is a lifestyle that magnifies the Lord and blesses you through you seeing the good, the joy, the laughter, the blessings, and the experiences that God placed in your life to improve your spirit. Keep your spirit alive. Keep your spirit full of laughter and joy. Keep your mind linked up with your spirit and I know you can make it through any battle thrown your way.

Let me know your battles, let me know how I can help you get through your struggle. I would love to connect with anyone would want to talk. Don’t be afraid to email me.

Harrison

Philippians 4:4- Rejoice in the Lord and again I say REJOICE!

Leave a Reply

